Horace Silver Quintet ‎– Further Explorations

Article number: 602508811401
Availability: In stock
  • Blue Note Tone Poet Series
  • Mastered From The Original Analog Tapes

Further Explorations documents hard-bop pioneer Horace Silver’s quintet featuring Art Farmer on trumpet, Clifford Jordan on tenor saxophone, Teddy Kotick on bass, and Louis Hayes on drums. One can always expect a Horace Silver date to groove, but this session from January 1958 is particularly inspired, with the pianist penning all but one of the compositions. The Outlaw is one of Silver’s most irrepressible creations with brilliant solos from Jordan, Farmer, and Silver. Moon Rays is what Silver referred to as a “walking ballad” that gives the band plenty of room to stretch out.

0 stars based on 0 reviews